1 Word 1000 Pictures

Mei Asada
3 min readOct 1, 2021

--

My word for this project is “expand.” I was really excited about word and originally thought that my idea would be about making and eating ramen.

Story Board Image for the First Idea

I originally thought that this would be a good idea because I though the spices in the water expanding, and seaweed expanding would be a great example for video footage. I then realized how terrible the footage was because of the steam.

After scratching the ramen idea I decided to film the process of my paintings. i like to explore how color expands with water on paper in these illustrations, so I thought it would be a perfect example for this project.

Water color image
Watercolor image

I also thought it would be great to get shots of ink going into the water and expanding.

Water and Ink

I personally love discovering how each of the different watercolors interacts and expands with the water. I find that different pigments from different brands work differently, and I think that's half the fun.

Water Color Painting.

I ended up shooting everything with a Sony a6000 on a tripod with a 16–50mm lens. I think the most challenging part of the filming process is filming the paint while it was wet close up. I think the beauty of the painting is within the process and I wish that I could focus better close up to the glitter of the painting and the subtle expansion that is constantly happening in the painting.

Final Scan of Painting

These images are still frames of the video. I thought that the ink expansion would be a good visual for this project. I was told that maybe I should push the video to be similar to the True Blood opening scene where the subjects are more abstracted because the video is the same subject over and over it gets a little repetitive.

I was satisfied with how my video turned out and that it was well-received, although my classmates were not able to guess the word. I got some suggestions about the technical errors. I thought my professor's comment about hearing metal music in the background was pretty refreshing and I wonder what other songs might be in people's heads when watching this video.

--

--